how is this not a touchdown

The Artesticle

I am far from a football expert, but that should without a doubt be a catch. He called the ball with two hands, hit his feet with control of the ball, then fell over and spiked the ball against the ground. I understand there are some crazy loopholes in the rulebook, but that was just an awful call.

I think that's bs about control, considering many guys rush in and dive for the corner of an end zone. A TD is anything that breaks the plane... he had two feet down too. I'm really confused by it.

There is a difference. When a player breaks the plane on a diving TD, they already have possession while attempt to score a touchdown. In the endzone attempting a catch, the player does not enter the endzone with possession and it is deemed that to be classified to fully possess the ball you need to maintain through the play.

• Owner

There is a difference. When a player breaks the plane on a diving TD, they already have possession while attempt to score a touchdown. In the endzone attempting a catch, the player does not enter the endzone with possession and it is deemed that to be classified to fully possess the ball you need to maintain through the play.

Exactly, just like if it were a catch on the 40 yard line.

Whether or not you guys like the rule, it's clear as day. Johnson should've tucked the ball in, and you can tell he didn't spike it or intentionally let go of it.

Same thing happens when a player catches the ball, toes in, and lands out of bounds. If he lands out and the ball pops out, it's an incomplete.

The rule is actually a good one, because if you allow for two steps while you're falling, and ignore the ball coming out when you hit the ground, you have to make it a rule that a player hit, while going to the ground, still scores despite the ball coming out...and the problem with that is, it wouldn't make sense on any other part of the field.