Melo Fixated On Knicks But Denver Looks To Deal With Nets

ChosenOne

Denver has resolved to trade Carmelo Anthony if he does not sign a contract extension with the Nuggets before the trade deadline.

Denver believes that Anthony, who is described as fixated on the prospect of joining the Knicks, is willing to wait out the entire season and sign as a free agent in New York.

But the Nuggets are not enamored with the players the Knicks would offer to acquire Anthony by trade before the deadline -- Wilson Chandler, Danilo Gallinari and Anthony Randolph -- and still hold out hope of sending Anthony to the Nets.

Rival executives doubt that Anthony would agree to a contract extension with New Jersey but sources in close contact with the superstar's representatives say that the Nets remain an option for him.

If Anthony does sign off on a move to New Jersey, the Nets' trade offer would center around Derrick Favors, Devin Harris and draft picks. The Nuggets reportedly are no longer interested in taking back long-term contracts to fill the gap that would be left by Anthony -- by seeking to acquire Andre Iguodala for instance -- but are apparently willing to take on Harris, whose contract runs two more years after this season.

RealGM

Edited by ChosenOne

Well the only option for him now is to wait out the entire season and sign as a free agent in New York and he is clearly willing to do so. I respect the fact that Melo is being completely open and honest about the whole thing and isn’t hiding anything and he is also not letting it affect his play.

I think he does not want Melo because of "how much" Nets have to give up to get him.

Which is... stupid, honestly.

Melo alone with bunch of craps can lead that franchise into the playoffs. In Melo's second season (2004-05), he led us to the playoffs while our team:

- playing without a shooting guard/ 3 pt shooter for the whole year (Voshon Lenard injured on opening night and out for season).